Review: ‘Black Ice’ by Becca Fitzpatrick

21943246.jpgBritt Pheiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but isn’t prepared when a violent storm leaves her and her best friend Korbie stranded. Seeking shelter in a secluded cabin, they find two handsome rescuers. Or so they think.

In exchange for her life, Britt must set out into the cold and snow to lead the men to safety. But during the harrowing journey in the wilderness, one of the men, Mason, starts to show an interest in Britt that seems more romantic than sinister. Can she really trust him? Her life depends on the answer.

[From Goodreads]

Book details

Genre: YA Fiction

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

ISBN: 9781471118166

~*~*~*~

Review

How good is a book, really, if you don’t read it in one sitting?

That was what I did with Black Ice. I know I often say a book was so good I read it in one go, but that usually entails at least one or two breaks for tea, a quick Twitter or Instagram session and maybe a sandwich halfway through. No, this time I mean I got into my bed at 6pm last night and I did not get out of that bed until I turned the last page at 11pm and started wandering around my house to find my sister and yell at her for putting me through such emotional trauma (it’s her book – she handed it to me wordlessly last night and shook her head before turning away. I should have known).

Becca Fitzpatrick holds a special place in my heart for her Hush, Hush series. It was one of the first series that I ever legitimately fangirled over with my friends (at age fifteen – admittedly not my finest year), and spurred off a lifetime obsession with supernatural YA novels that led me to my other favourites. I’ll admit I’ve been waiting a while for her to release something new, but I was a little worried about Black Ice. It looked so different to her other books – what if I was disappointed?

Ha. I’ll bet you Fitzpatrick and her publisher laughed for about an hour about how much of a “shock and awe” factor this novel would have.

Black Ice is phenomenal. The storyline was sharp, deadly and expertly plotted. Fitzpatrick’s writing is dark and compelling – evidently the work of a YA master, whose writing takes you on a roller coaster ride of emotions, but you’ll hardly notice how fast your heart is beating because you’re too stuck in the story. And the characters… exceptional. Fitzpatrick builds a hero out of a stereotypical teenage girl, slowly giving her depth and independence until she breaks herself out of the mold she was confined to by the men surrounding her. It was inspiring to watch (read). Every character was more complex than they first appeared, and the way the author altered them through plot twists and climactic disasters had a mind-blowing effect.

Becca Fitzpatrick, you are amazing. Please write many more books, even if each one I read destroys another fraction of my sanity.

4 stars

Rating: 4/5

Recommended to: Fans of Hush, Hush, and everyone else.

~*~*~*~

The Last Word

I think it’s important to take another second to appreciate Becca Fitzpatrick’s writing style, because it really is among the best in YA charts at the moment. She writes exceptionally, and I’m not sure that others have truly noticed that, because at first I didn’t. Her story is often so gripping that it’s easy to overlook just how well she’s telling it.

Fitzpatrick’s style is so accessible. I think it’s truly admirable that she always allows her story to shine through her writing (not the other way around) and her novels flourish because of it. She’s not patronizing or condescending; she doesn’t try to confuse her readers with elaborate sentences or flowery descriptive passages, yet it’s clear that she’s an excellent writer. That’s the way YA should be written.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s